George Have Blog

Its hard to be a baby

All done

on June 20, 2013

George loves to say ‘all done’ about all sorts of things. But the latest thing he is ‘all done’ with is nursing.

I could tell that my supply was waning a bit in the last few weeks, but G didn’t seem to mind. He was still nursing 2-3 times per day. Then one day Clay brought him in for his morning session and he said ‘no.’ He asked for aqua instead and ran off to play. I offered it to him several times, but he wasn’t interested.  Clay (jokingly) told me not to be pathetic. 🙂

Well, I cried the whole way to work. How’s that for not pathetic? Ha.

He nursed off and on for the next few week, but definitely shorter sessions. Then finally, he just stopped. He stopped asking and I stopped offering.

I know 18 months is a long time to nurse to most people, but it still makes me sad. I think that if I wasn’t pregnant we would have continued longer and that is hard for me to think about. I imagine that he will ask to nurse when he sees the new baby nursing–he still ‘pretends’ to nurse when I’m topless around him (like in the bath).  I just don’t make a big deal about it because there is nothing to make a deal out of–if he wants to, he can.

I am proud that he had nothing but breast milk for the first 6 months and we didn’t introduce cow’s milk until 13 months old. And that we had our very special bed and morning times until 18 months. It was a hard road at the beginning and I learned so much about myself in the process.

But, the thing I am most proud of is that he was ready. There was really no transition at all. No crying (well, not for George), no engorgement problems for me–it happened completely on its own. It made it a very peaceful experience–the term ‘weaning’ doesn’t even really apply.

Clay is so proud of George, too. He is such a big boy and he is finding independence all on his own. We couldn’t be happier (but mommy is still a little sad, too).

SONY DSC

Leave a Reply

