George Have Blog

Its hard to be a baby

A Day in the Life of George at 1 Year

on November 29, 2012

Since the blog is technically George’s baby book (among other things) so before I print the book for year 1, I wanted to include a post about what George’s day to day life is like right now. And include some pictures of him doing his newest most adorable trick–hugging his stuffed animals.

George is on a good schedule that is working really well. Things will change soon as our child care arrangement will be different in the new year. So all the more reason to document his routine these days.

George wakes up around 6:30am and comes to our bed where he nurses. Sometimes he is already in our bed, if he wakes up around 4/5am (he does this about 3 or 4 nights a week).

Clay usually leaves around 7am. Then I change George’s diaper and we hang out while I clean up upstairs. We go downstairs and play, too. I do my morning chore list. George helps me unload the dishwasher (he hands me the dishes, especially the silverware). I pack my lunch and get ready to go to work.

At 7:55am Jessica, George’s nanny, arrives. I leave shortly thereafter. Jessica feeds him breakfast (oatmeal, fruit and cheerios), changes his diaper and then puts him down for a nap. He sleeps in his swing with his lovey and a blanket. We turn on the white noise machine and close the light blocking curtains. He usually wakes up around 10:30 or 11am. She changes his diaper and dresses him for the day. We are still using cloth diapers during the day.

If its nice, George and Jessica play outside, go for a walk or to the park until lunch time at 12:30pm. He has veggies, a protein, some oatmeal and maybe some yogurt. He also loves to have shredded cheese at lunch! Jessica is working with him now on using a spoon and feeding himself, but we have a long way to go in this area!

After lunch, Jessica plays with George until I come home around 1:45pm. I usually find them up in the nursery reading or playing with toys. I love walking in and seeing his face light up! He usually laughs and starts telling me all about his day. He crawls over to me and Jessica and I talk about how his day has been. Jessica heads out and I nurse George.

He then naps again starting around 2pm. I work down stairs and watch him on the monitor.

He wakes up around 4 or 4:30pm. We cuddle and talk. I change his diaper and bring him downstairs.

We play in the living room and I get dinner started. He loves to walk all around with his push toy, crawl through his tunnel or play with his little basket ball hoop. I usually give him a snack as soon as he gets up, along with a sippy cup of water. He is doing great with the sippy cup.

Around 5:30pm he nurses again. Then, daddy comes home!

George freaks out when he sees Clay. He loves, loves, loves his daddy!! They usually get right down on the floor and play.

We have dinner together around 6:30pm. I love this part of the day, when all of us are together. We talk and catch up. George eats a little of what we are eating for veggies and protein, some more oatmeal and cheerios. Don’t forget the shredded cheese! We also try to give him prunes at every meal to keep him regular. If its a Friday, we have dinner with the Carlyles and the Bergs. George plays with his buddies…we love this tradition!

Every other night George gets a bath. Clay does this, and sometimes even gets in the bath with him. I do my evening chore list while Clay get George ready for bed. He gets into his PJs and wears a disposable diaper (they hold up better overnight). I come up stairs and we hang out in the nursery and watch George play, if we have time. This family time is wonderful–George rolling the ball back and forth between us, George laughing HUGE belly laughs while Clay chases him around the room. I can’t get enough. Then, one of us reads George a story or two.

Around 7:45pm I nurse George and then put him down for bed around 8pm. He usually goes right to sleep and stays asleep until somewhere between 4am and 6:30am.

Then, Clay and I get some time to cuddle on the couch and watch TV. Or lately, play the Wii U. MARIO! 🙂

Loving life.

3 responses to “A Day in the Life of George at 1 Year

  1. Robert says:

    Thank you, Lonna!

  2. Chris says:

    George has made this year wonderful and beautiful!

  3. Luanne Farish says:

    George is lucky to have such a great life. All of you will appreciate Lonna’s time spent with the blog as he grows up. Love to all, Luanne

Leave a Reply

