George Have Blog

Its hard to be a baby

9 Months!

on September 10, 2012

Wow, I’m late is posting this! We’ve had a few crazy weeks, but luckily I got these pictures on the 9/1, so we know just what he looked like on his 9 month birthday.

George is growing like crazy. He is the sweetest, sweetest boy. 9 months seems so old-I simply cannot believe its been that long. He is obviously one very cool dude.

Size: George is still a small little banana baby. The dr was quite happy with his weight at his 9 month appt because he is staying on his curve. At his appointment he weighed nearly 17 pounds (10% percentile) and was 27.5 inches (25%).

I just switched him over to 12 month sized clothes because they were getting a little short. They look great and its so much fun to get a whole new wardrobe in rotation for him.

Sleep: We have had a little back tracking in this area. He has started waking up more frequently (as many as four times a night), not sure if its a growth spurt or teeth issues. But, we are keeping a sleep log and I’m also reading the no cry sleep solution for some help. Hopefully things will improve over the next few months. Luckily, its nothing we can’t handle.

Naps on the other hand are going great. He is still taking two naps each day, about 2 hours a piece in his swing.

Eating: George has come so far in this area! He is self feeding for every meal. We are trying to give him a little by spoon with each meal, but he mostly loves to just do it himself. His favorite foods are peas, peaches, puffs, yogurt melts and of course MUMS. Wow, he loves those. He eats three meals a day at 8am, 12:30pm and 6pm. I think I will introduce a snack around 4pm or so in the coming weeks. He still eats about 6 times a day from me, but I have noticed that he wants to nurse a little less and it eating more solid food. Right on schedule!

Temperament: George is so alert and interactive. He is sweet, loving and even keeled (like is daddy). Its hard to believe such a chill baby came out of me, to be honest.

He is learning to push boundaries a little bit and he even slowly, carefully bit me during nursing while looking me in the eye to see what I would do. But, when I told him no, he listened and hasn’t done it since.

George had a MAJOR change this month because Clay got a job. He is now working full time and not home with George. This was hard for both me and George. My mom and sister were with him, but he is having some separation anxiety. He wants mommy or daddy to hold him all the time. On the whole, he is adjusting well.

Milestones: The most fun update! George is talking up a storm. He sounds like he is telling elaborate stories wit his babbles and we can’t get enough. He also repeats sounds that we make, if we make low sounds he does, too. Same for high sounds. It been great to have these interactions.

 

We are still keeping our eye out for any language delays since George couldn’t really hear at speaking level for the first 5 months of his life or so! His official first word is MUM MUM, if you can believe it. I would like to say its mama (which he is also saying to me), but mum mum is much more consistently associated with the actual object. He also says ‘baba’ when he wants to nurse, but this is also not as clear as MUMUMUM.

His gross motor skills are awesome. He moves around like a champ and is cruising like crazy. He walks all around holding on to whatever he can get to. Crawling is excellent, of course (he has been crawling with his stomach off the floor for about 6 weeks). He never commando crawls anymore. Fine motor skills are also great. He has the pincer grasp down and is showing signs of pointing.

He plays peek a boo with a blanket or toy and its just about the cutest thing I have every seen.

Teeth: I’m going to do a separate post on this because we went from nothing to 5 teeth in the month of August. ADORABLE. His top teeth came in first and they are awesome. He hasn’t had too much pain, that we can tell. I think it has affected his sleep, but otherwise I haven’t noticed it getting him down during the day. He likes to chew on frozen toys sometimes.

I love this boy OH SO much.

 

 

 

One response to “9 Months!

  1. Chris says:

    He is a sweetie! Hope the separation anxiety is getting better! I adore him!!!

Leave a Reply

