George Have Blog

Its hard to be a baby

Baby Cubes

on July 20, 2012

I’ve had a blast making George’s baby food. I enjoy finding new foods for him and pureeing them into smooth little spoonfuls. He’s tried so many fun fruits and veggies so far! I make food every other week or so.

I start with my fruit/veggies. I try to get organic at least for the dirty dozen, but don’t always. My goal is to get him to try as much as possible–I really want him to enjoy many flavors.

First, I use my rice cooker to steam the fruits/veggies.

I received a baby bullet as a gift and I love it! Its smaller and more light weight that my food processor. Its so easy and processes the food quickly and efficiently.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I got these amazing ice cube trays that create perfect 1 ounce cubes.

Those little squares are so satisfying. I love to stack them.

After freezing them, I pop them out.

Bag them up.

And back into the freezer they go.

Weekly, I make a little menu for George. Each night, I look at the menu and take the cubes for the next day out of the freezer and put into the fridge to defrost. This way I can give him variety, introduce a new food every three days and use up the oldest cubes first.

George is a happy baby. I should have a picture of him happily eating some of homemade food. But instead, here is one of him contemplating a summer storm. 🙂

 

2 responses to “Baby Cubes

  1. Chris says:

    As interesting as the description of your food routine is…the best part of this entry is the picture of George looking out the front door!

  2. EstherB says:

    Baby food making –> so much more fun than pumping! Truly a great pic of George. 🙂

Leave a Reply

