George Have Blog

Its hard to be a baby

7 months!

on July 3, 2012

I didn’t think it was possible, but I fall more and more in love with George everyday. And here we are, at 7 months!

Size: Not sure of his exact size, but he seems like he is growing like a weed. The 9 month onesies are fitting really well now and I feel like he is getting a little bit of chunk to his legs. His legs seem longer to me, too. And I don’t know if this is technically about ‘size’ but his hair is getting SO long. I think we are going to have to trim it, but I’m so conflicted because its SO cute and SO George. But its starting to get into his eyes and I need to get over it.

Sleep: Last month we were really struggling with this. George had made a cognitive transition and became more aware, this made him MUCH harder to put down to sleep. Over the last month, we did some hard work and it definitely paid off. Clay and I agreed that we were not ready for cry it out sleep training. Instead, we decided to stick hard to a night time schedule where I still nursed him down and that has worked out great. He goes to sleep at 8pm, stirs up when I come to bed around 10-11pm and has a snack. He then sleeps until 5am and 7am to eat. He doesn’t even open his eyes for the 11pm or 5am feeding. I also sleep through the 5am feed. I like that he still does night feedings, because I think he needs the calories.

His naps have also improved and are on a pretty routine schedule. He had a morning nap around 9/10pm that lasts 1.5-2.5 hours. Then he has an afternoon nap around 2pm that lasts 1-2 hours. For his nap he is not nursed, but Clay does put him in his swing. It is working for us right now, but we will start to transition him to his crib soon.

Eating: George has made a huge leap in eating solids over the past few weeks. He is getting so much better and the process has much been easier. He eats 1-2 tablespoons of oatmeal and 1 oz of a fruit of veggie for a meal, 2-3 times a day. He loves peaches. He is okay on the green beans. We try to give him one serving of prunes a day since he still does not have regular bowel movements (this is not a big deal, but something we keep an eye on).

I am planning on introducing small pieces of soft foods in the next week or so. He’s done this with banana a few times and has done great. Also, sometimes I give him big chucks of apple, carrot or green pepper to chew on if I’m watching him. He likes that. George is also doing great with a sippy cup and has a little bit of water daily.

For nursing, he still has 6-7 good sessions a day, with some snacking when I am home. If I’m holding him he will ask to nurse for just a little bit. Or he’ll crawl over and rub his face in my chest, which is hilarious. He seems to be doing this more in the hot weather, probably because he is thirsty. He also has shorter, frequent nursing sessions because he gets distracted. Nursing on demand has worked out great for me and has kept my pumping supply solid. Clay still gives him a 6-8 ounce bottle a day when I’m at work. I’m happy this is still going so well!

Temperament: George is the greatest baby ever. The most sweet and clever. I really believe this. Because its true. 😉

Oh, but there is this…

Ha.

In all seriousness, he is in a good mood 90% of the time–and this has improved since we got him on his new ‘big baby’ schedule. Of course he has his moments, but usually when he is tired or uncomfortable. But he loves people and other kids. He is so curious and loves to touch them and be held. Still no major stranger danger, but he definitely keeps his eyes on mommy and daddy if other people are around. And even if he does get upset, he is easy to calm. He loves when we sing to him. He doesn’t like to be left along for long and WILL get our attention if we are neglecting him.

Milestones: This month is all about mobility and interaction. George started commando crawling, which is the cutest thing ever. He moves pretty darn quick. Sadly, this also lets me know just how dirty my floor is at any given time. And the front of his onesies are all stretched out. Hilarious. The unfortunate part is that his knees and toes are all raw from it. But he doesn’t seem to mind. He is also pulling up on low lying things (like the dishwasher, for example).

But the best thing is this amazing increase in his interaction…he even waved good bye to me this morning! It brought tears to my eyes. And, whenever he sees me or clay he gets SO excited and waves his arms about and smiles. He puts his arms up when he wants picked up. George also has started screaming high pitched screams when he gets excited. Its hilarious. It also means we can’t really go to nice restaurants anymore.

Hearing: This is probably this last time I will include this section because this has pretty much cleared up. We will have some follow up appointments, but all in all things are great in this area!

Teeth: None, and no sign of any!

Leave a Reply

