George Have Blog

Its hard to be a baby

Back To Work

on March 8, 2012

I am back at work this week, doing part time in the office and part time at home. I am actually really enjoying work and only missing one feeding with George. Clay is giving him a bottle of pumped milk for that feeding. He isn’t crazy about the bottle, but hopefully will get used to it as time goes on. I am pumping at work and thats going really well. The lactation room at my office is REALLY nice. I’m keeping a pumping log of how much I’m getting so I will notice right away if my supply is dropping off. Right now I’m pumping 8+ ounces, which is more than he is eating with the bottle. Yay! I also have around 225 ounces in the freezer, so we should be good to go for a long while.

He naps for most of the morning time that I am gone and I love to hug and squeeze him when I get back. Feels so good to have him in my arms!

Its nice to enjoy our evenings hanging out. I love his fluffy cloth butt in this one…a post on our switch to cloth is coming up soon! Its been about a month since we switched and its been going very well.

We also went to George’s audiologist appt yesterday, but we didn’t really learn anything new. He still has fluid (or wax) in his ears making his ear drums very stiff and he failed the screening again (no surprise since the fluid is still there). On monday we will go to another appointment and he will have an ENT doctor look at his ears to see what is going on in there. Then, he will have a Auditory Brainstem Response (ABR) test. This will determine if he has sensorineural loss or just the conductive (fluid/wax) loss.

He has to be totally asleep for this test since they cannot sedate babies so young. We have a big block of time and will need to sleep deprive him so he will pass out at the office.  He is pretty easy to put to sleep (I did it at yesterday’s appt) so I think it will be okay. Fingers crossed that all goes well!

2 responses to “Back To Work

  1. Chris says:

    Uncle Curt should talk to George about ear problems!

  2. […] but just didn’t know what it meant for the rest of his life, if anything. Check out these posts for the back […]

Leave a Reply

